5 TOP highlights in the Wipptal


add to travel guide

We have listed 5 tips here that include not only the well-known cultural destinations but also other places that we think are interesting.


add to travel guide

Milling village in Gschnitz

Open from May to October
Built at the end of the valley next to the Sandes waterfall, the Mühlendorf milling village in Gschnitz offers visitors a unique insight into the culture, tradition and rural craftsmanship of Tyrol. Mills, grain storage containers, workshops, baking ovens, washrooms and fences constructed according to historical plans, using old wood, original materials and building methods typical of the period. Visitors are invited to visit the different information points to discover more about the particularities of the village site. Guides are bookable on request: children up to the age of 10 years pay no entrance fee; for children up to 16 years entrance costs € 2.00. Adults: € 4.00. Every Thursday (only when good weather) bread making will be offered! 

Homepage


Matrei-Trautson castle with suspension bridge

In 1221, Trautson Castle was built, which was owned by the Lords of Matrei and passed to the Lords of Trautson in 1369. After several changes, Trautson, which had been expanded into a castle, passed to the Auersperg princes in 1600. When the Brenner railway was built in 1868 and a tunnel was blown up directly below the castle hill, the castle was severely damaged. Furthermore, on 2 April 1945, several aerial bombs hit the castle and, apart from the chaplaincy and parts of the keep, everything was destroyed. The bombs were actually intended to hit the Brenner railway. Today, the castle is being restored in a comprehensive project and the castle grounds are being made accessible to visitors. A first step was the 150 m suspension bridge over the Sill Gorge from Pfons to the castle, which can already be walked on. There is also a great circular trail that leads from the train station to the castle and back through historic Matrei.

To wipptal blog


Alpine flower garden & accessible circular route in Schmirn

Away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life amidst the unspoilt nature of the mountaineering village of Schmirn, a very special cultural treat awaits you: visit the newly revitalised Alpine Flower and Herb Garden in Toldern. The garden is separated from the other fields by a traditional sloping wooden fence and is a 5-minute walk from the Olpererblick inn. After the innkeepers could no longer keep up with the maintenance of the spacious garden, voluntary godparents for the individual "Gartln" were sought and also found. A total of 17 godmothers from Schmirn, including children, now help to care for the garden. The areas are divided into Schnapsgartl, Steingartl, Bauerngartl, Weihegartl and Alpenkräuter zu Heilzwecken. On wooden sticks you will find information about the history and use of the different plants.


Pilgrimage Chapel of St. Magdalena

The St. Magdalena pilgrimage chapel is perched on a steep mountainside 400 metres above the valley floor, between the villages of Trins and Gschnitz. No other pilgrimage chapel in the Wipptal Valley boasts such a romantic and attractive location as St. Magdalena. The interior of this small chapel houses the oldest frescoes found to date in North Tyrol. The departure point for this short hike is the parish church in Gschnitz. Follow trail no. 50 along the right-hand side of the stream heading out of the valley. After approximately 1 km, the trail merges into the Jubilee Trail (no. 52), which initially climbs steeply before winding its way up to the chapel. The wonderful views make the challenging climb worth its while. Hiking time: 1 h 45 min
NEW in autumn 2017: Fixed-rope route St. Magdalena (B) 


Maria Waldrast Monastery

A pilgrimage church (from the highest monastery situated in Europe) located at 1638 m, and the Minster of the servite order. Building permission was granted in 1409 for a pilgrims' chapel. Terracotta reliefs at the 14 Stations of the Cross on the old pilgrim’s route were created by H. Buchgchwender. Completion of the construction was noted in documentary evidence as being in 1429, sanctification took place in 1465 and reconstruction followed between 1621 and 1624; in 1621 the foundation of the monastery ensued with the classical nave, interior baroque altars, late Gothic Madonna with child, Maria Himmelfahrt altarpiece, the people’s altar with the Painful Mother, the ceiling fresco in chancel with a presentation of the discovery of the mercy images and votive tablets in the votive chapel.